Cambridge Band Competition!!!!


So I finally applied for the Cambridge Band Competition this year and have made it through to the heats! The gig is on March 17th ¬†at The Portland Arms. I’m feeling so nervous about this gig that straight after writing this I ‘m going to have to use the loo. It will be the first full gig I will be doing since the knee operation so just being able to stand up for the duration of the set counts as a victory for me!

Any support would be really appreciated for this – there is an audience vote as well as the judges decision which can influence getting into the finals – so if you are free this St Patricks Day – please come along!

Band Comp 2011 Heats Poster

Rishi Karmadillo knee Operation

So I’m sitting at home recovering from the knee operation I had last week. Its still a bit swollen but I’ve started the exercise regime and we’ll see how it all goes. I think it will be three or four more weeks before I’ll be gigging again – am now arranging things for future gigs so the calendar is getting fuller!

Unfortunately the anesthetic and the pain killers left me in a dazed state and I regressed back to my teenage years where I dreamed I was Jimmy Page.

It persisted right up until the point I left.

Now I have stopped air guitaring I can finally update the blog. Many thanks to the lovely Katya for looking after me!

Hope to be gigging soon.

Bard For Life – The Album

We are proud to announce that the first Karmadillo album with UkeyLove Records is now available on iTunes! ‘Bard For Life’ features 11 Karmadillo tracks, available for the first time online.

Places to Buy The Album

Track Listings

  1. Noone Else (drums)
  2. Veloceraptor
  3. Why Must I Be A Teenage Zombie In Love
  4. Facebook Makes This Bit Easy
  5. Still
  6. Australia
  7. Noone Else Oboe Mashup (original)
  8. Rent Boy
  9. Woman In Red
  10. E.T.
  11. Mars and Venus

The album is in part a retrospective of Karmadillo work in the naughties, and features contributions from many Cambridge musicians including Jon Craven from Liquid Sky, accordian maestro Karl Sandeman and Tom Barden, drummer from the Pony Collaboration.

The album cover was designed by Miss Roberts of the Rude Mechanicals.